Airlines for America Applauds Bipartisan Senate Commerce Committee Action to Further Bolster Airport Security

WASHINGTON, Dec. 9, 2015 – Airlines for America (A4A), the industry trade organization for the leading U.S. airlines, today applauded Senate Commerce Committee passage of bipartisan legislation introduced by Chairman John Thune (R-SD), Ranking Member Bill Nelson (D-FL), Senator Kelly Ayotte (R-NH) and Senator Maria Cantwell (D-WA), designed to bolster security at airports across the country.

The legislation is in line with House passage of the Airport Access Control Security Improvement Act of 2015, sponsored by the Chairman and Ranking Members of the House Homeland Security Committee’s Transportation Security Subcommittee, John Katko (R-NY) and Kathleen Rice (D-NY).

“The U.S. aviation system remains the largest and safest aviation system in the world as a result of the ongoing and strong collaboration among airlines, airline employees, airports, manufacturers and government,” said A4A President and CEO Nicholas E. Calio. “The safety and security of our passengers and crewmembers remains our highest priority, and we applaud Senators Thune, Nelson, Ayotte and Cantwell for their leadership to further enhance airport security and the overall safety of our air travel system.”


Airlines for America (A4A) members are Alaska Airlines, American Airlines, Atlas Air, Delta Air Lines, FedEx, Hawaiian Airlines, JetBlue Airways, Southwest Airlines, United Airlines and UPS. Air Canada is an associate member.

A4A advocates on behalf of the leading U.S. airlines, both passenger and cargo carriers. A4A works collaboratively with industry stakeholders, federal agencies, the Administration, Congress, labor and other groups to improve aviation for the traveling and shipping public.

For more information about the airline industry, visit our website and our blog, A Better Flight Plan, at

Follow us on Twitter: @airlinesdotorg.
Like us on Facebook:
Join us on Instagram:


See Media Contacts